Cherokee Communities and Townships

— Written By N.C. Cooperative Extension

Cherokee County is comprised of several communities and townships, each of which adds its own unique contribution to the beautiful landscape, cherished natural cultural resources, and diverse (and growing) population base of our county.

Some of the communities in Cherokee County include: Peachtree, Martin’s Creek, Unaka, Violet, Liberty, Suit, Grandview, Ogreeta, Grape Creek, Hanging Dog, Boiling Springs, Owl Creek, Beaverdam, Hothouse, Notla, Shoal Creek, Hiwassee Dam, Valleytown, and Tomotla. (This is not an exhaustive list).

Cherokee County townships include Murphy and Andrews, out of which Murphy is the county seat.

Community members of all ages participate in a variety of Extension-based clubs and service organizations such as ECA, Master Gardeners, and 4-H.

North Carolina Cooperative Extension centers — located in all 100 counties and on the Cherokee Reservation — are community resources, serving as the front door to the vast knowledge base of N.C. State and N.C. A&T State universities. Cooperative Extension helps build quality communities by training adult and youth volunteers to become community leaders, providing educational programs to stimulate community economic development, working in partnership with other agencies to help citizens prepare for and recover from disasters — and more.

Updated on Jun 30, 2012
Was the information on this page helpful? Yes check No close
Scannable QR Code to Access Electronic Version